top of page

Why April 12 sucks


In my 64 years on this planet, I have had the privilege of having many, many great friends. But today marks the anniversary of the death of one of my very best friends - and partner in crime - Leon Douglas Shipp.

Shipp was always the prankster, and always up for anything that sounded like fun. He made dull times into a party full of life and laughter.

My heart breaks every April 12th when I remember the phone call I got from Champ telling me Doug had died. He was only 39.

My only salvation - and keeps me from erasing April 12th from the calendar - is that my grandson, Nolan was born on April 12th.

The Lord gave, and the Lord hath taken away.


RANDY'S

HUNTING TIPS

#1 

Use BBB or BB shot. 10 gauge is best, but 12 gauge is fine.

 

#2

Wear something that will keep your backside dry on cold wet ground. Goose hunting is an extreme sport, and you are in the elements - be prepared.

 

#3

Wear dark or white clothing. Do not wear hunter orange. Unlike deer hunting, we do not need to see each other since we are shooting in the same direction.

bottom of page