top of page

Waiting

I hate to wait. The beginning of hunting season is like Christmas or your birthday. You wait and wait and all of sudden, it is here. This year is no different. My dogs wait better than me. They are trained to wait. Wait to retrieve. Wait to honor another dog. Wait. Wait. Wait. They do it. Not me. I don't like waiting. I even show up to places 15 minutes early so no one has to wait on me.

I have two dates that I hold in high esteem. October 12th and October 31st. Historically big groups of speckle-bellies show up within 4 to 5 days of October 12th. The same for October 31st for snow geese. Here it is, October 12th, and already a few speckle-bellies have been spotted. It's like magic. The birds just arrive, each year, like clockwork.

To the people who have witnessed a migration of geese, I envy you. There are few sights more awe inspiring than to see geese at 15,000 feet descending to the ground. I look forward to this event every year.

It really is going to be a great year. I cannot wait.

Speckle Belly Geese already arriving in Arkansas


RANDY'S

HUNTING TIPS

#1 

Use BBB or BB shot. 10 gauge is best, but 12 gauge is fine.

 

#2

Wear something that will keep your backside dry on cold wet ground. Goose hunting is an extreme sport, and you are in the elements - be prepared.

 

#3

Wear dark or white clothing. Do not wear hunter orange. Unlike deer hunting, we do not need to see each other since we are shooting in the same direction.

bottom of page