top of page

Why Arkansas???


"The Legend" on a teal hunt September, 2017.

I went on my first goose hunt in December of 1969 in Anahauc, Texas. It was one of the most awe-inspiring events of my life. Snow geese flew over my head for hours.

The next year, I joined the DuPont Hunting Club and saw even more geese. The number of snow geese kept growing and growing and growing. The hunting was fantastic.

This experience started my lifelong love of goose hunting. It's my passion. It is what drives me to get up each day. I even have a Wildlife & Fisheries degree from Texas A&M University. My beautiful wife says, "You majored in goose hunting!"

I think about hunting day and night. I've been fortunate to be able to goose hunt for decades. Now, in my "older" age, my friends call me "The Legend." They laugh as they say it, but when you have seen as much waterfowl hunting as I have, you learn a thing or two. The name fits. Goose hunting is my lifelong career.

In every career, you see shifts and changes. If you are lucky to work and live a long life, you get to see shifts over decades of time. I started noticing a shift in my hunting career in the early 2000s. It became very evident: hunting in the 2000s wasn't the same as hunting in 1970. There just were not as many geese.

As the years passed, and yet another decade (I really am NOT that old, right?) the numbers of geese migrating to the Houston area seemed to be decreasing. I saw it with my own eyes.

I am a scientist in my own right. I can compare my years of experience and know the birds just aren't migrating as far south as Houston.

I started really noticing the decrease in the late 2000s; however, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife service was telling us that the population and hatch was sky-rocketing. It didn't make sense, because there were obviously fewer snow geese in Texas. I decided to solve the mystery myself.

I started looking for the geese. I found them in Northeast Arkansas. What's amazing is, I found the missing Texas birds AND I found another 2 million!

I look at the goose hunting in Arkansas like Lewis and Clarke did when they left St Louis. It is an untapped resource waiting for an old, gray-haired fart like me to mine. I may not be a scientist working in a research lab at a fancy university, but my years of hunting experience, my "Legend" status if you will, tells me the waterfowl hunting is in Arkansas.

So there you go. I moved my business from Matagorda County, Texas to Jonesboro, Arkansas two years ago. It takes an entrepreneur to start a business, but it is takes a trailblazer to trust your gut and start mapping out a new adventure, no matter how old you are.


RANDY'S

HUNTING TIPS

#1 

Use BBB or BB shot. 10 gauge is best, but 12 gauge is fine.

 

#2

Wear something that will keep your backside dry on cold wet ground. Goose hunting is an extreme sport, and you are in the elements - be prepared.

 

#3

Wear dark or white clothing. Do not wear hunter orange. Unlike deer hunting, we do not need to see each other since we are shooting in the same direction.

bottom of page